Who we are

The Hardship Review Board is an independent body established under the State Debt Recovery Act 2018.

It’s made up of three members:

  • Secretary of the Department of Finance, Services and Innovation
  • Secretary of the Treasury
  • Secretary of the Department of Justice.

These members can delegate other staff in their departments to represent them.

They meet several times a year, depending on the number of applications.

Revenue NSW performs the role of secretary to the Board and manages its hotline to answer questions from customers.

All decisions of the Board are made independently of Revenue NSW.